The Consulate General in Jerusalem is among the most important foreign representations of Türkiye as Jerusalem has a unique place in the Turkish-Ottoman heritage.

The Consulate General in Jerusalem, opened in 1925 following the establishment of the Republic of Türkiye, has the privilege of being among the oldest diplomatic missions of Türkiye.

According to the decision of the Council of Ministers numbered 92/2772 and dated March 15, 1992, the jurisdiction of the Consulate General includes West and East Jerusalem, the West Bank and the Gaza Strip. [The city of Jerusalem falls within the jurisdiction of the Consulate General according to the boundaries, which were determined by the special status (Corpus Separatum) conferred upon the city with the Resolution No. 181 of the UN General Assembly in 1947].

Following the 1967 War during which Israel occupied East Jerusalem, the West Bank and the Gaza Strip, the attempt of the Israeli soldiers who entered the courtyard of Haram al-Sharif to raise the Israeli flag on the Dome of the Rock was averted by the then Turkish Consul General.

After Israel declared Jerusalem as its “eternal and indivisible” capital in 1980, Türkiye closed its Consulate General in Jerusalem as a sign of protestation. Following the positive atmosphere created by the Madrid Peace Conference, the Consulate General resumed its activities in September 1992 and has remained open so far.

Since 2005, Consul Generals with Ambassadorial rank have been appointed to the Consulate General in Jerusalem. The Consul General in Jerusalem serves as the Turkish Ambassador to Palestine.


Ahmet Rıza Demirer Consul General
Monday - Friday

08:00 - 17:00

- Turkish citizens can come to the Consulate General for consular services without prior appointment. - Visa applications should be made through the offices of Passport Visa Service LLC in Jerusalem and Ramallah.